NaPoWriMo Day 24: x is for existence

A selection from Stephen Crane’s The Black Riders and Other lines… the poems in this collection question our place and purpose in the world.
254083_1956948038276_2257918_n
 
A man said to the universe:
“Sir, I exist!”
“However,” replied the universe,
“The fact has not created in me
A sense of obligation.”
                 ~Stephen Crane

And without further ado,  my NaPoWriMo poem…

 The long, thin man

in 410 is dying.

He has no one.

I smooth the hair

across his scalp.

He has no one,

only me on the

night shift.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Fee says:

    I’m really enjoying your writing – I love this one 🙂

    Fee | Wee White Hoose
    Scottish Mythology and Folklore A-Z

  2. veganrose says:

    I just figured out how to link to your blog! We’re all gaga here over the Outlander series, so I must share your blog with my BFF!

  3. Liz Brownlee says:

    Aww, that’s lovely. Sad, but lovely. Fellow poet ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    1. veganrose says:

      Thank you, Liz! Life is sad but lovely, just the same..

Leave a Reply

