NaPoWriMo Day 13: M is for Rod McKuen

Rod McKuengrowing up, his poetry occupied a place of honor in our home.  My mother IMG_0287stood his books on the china hutch next to the Lives of the Saints.  I like his poems best for their emotional vulnerability. They’re personal… like a diary.  His popularity peaked in the 60s and 70s.  BTW I’m gaga for the mod cover art.

McKuen was  also a successful lyricist, nominated for an Acadamy Award for the song Jean written for the movie, The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie.   The first 45 record I remember buying was Terry Jacks’ Seasons in the Sun–  only recently did I realize it was a McKuen song.

Now without further ado, my NaPoWriMo poem-of-the-day:

Those long hot days

we stretched our brown legs in the tall grass.

The summer lawn hosted a thousand dandelions

and we strung plastic charms along a tattered thread,

made bracelets from clover,

ate strawberries from a tin.

Oh, as a child, the things I wanted to be.

Pilot, archeologist, artist, writer.

When I wasn’t looking

the days and seasons fell away like beads

from a broken string.

That’s the thing.

There’s too many to catch so they clatter,

roll away forever,

in this direction and that.

Almost as though they never mattered.

Almost.

But then way turns into way,

and the path was curly, as paths go,

and well, you know.

Here I am.

Summer is pulling up to the garage

and I’ve got my pen in hand

and a thousand dandelions at my feet.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Loved this post. Loved the song; didn’t realize it was Rod McKuen’s lyrics. Now to explore a few other of your posts — I see B is for Wendell Berry and he is one of my faves.

    Visiting from a to z.
    Susan

    1. veganrose says:

      I just noticed your wordpress address is souxsie, like Souxsie and the Banshees- nice! I appreciate your comments… ~Rosie

  2. JK Candlen says:

    You are rocking. I especially love the the line, ‘When I wasn’t looking, the days and seasons fell away like beads, from a broken string.” Your poem brings back many pleasant memories and makes me ponder.

Leave a Reply

