NaPoWriMo Day 9: I is for… David Ignatow.

 

I discovered a new (new, to me) poet:  David Ignatow.  His name is hyperlinked to a poem titled The Bagel.   I think you’ll love the poem, too, and want to read more of his work.  

When the day surprises you with a gift- maybe a new author to read, maybe a free bagel- I find it best to celebrate with a poem.   Without further ado, my NaPoWriMo poem for today:

 When  someone asks me

how to make the world a better place,

I tell them: read a poem.

Every day.

Every day read a poem.

Read an everyday poem,

every day.

Not one of those overstuffed verses,

(now I’m not naming names-

Byron, Shelly or Keats, to name a few.

And Yeats- I’m guess I’m looking at you.

No disrespect.)

Unless you like that sort of thing,

and either Browning makes you sing

then- read on!

Or read a poem that takes your hand,

kicks your butt, incites you, or

invites you to drink lemonade or

float ducks in your bath or

fly kites at night.

And at night read one aloud to someone you love,

and have them read one to you.

It’s only fair.  Only right.

After all that, you may find,

if  so inclined, to reap what you’ve sown

and write a poem that breaks someone’s heart.

Maybe your own.

.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. JK Candlen says:

    How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

    1. veganrose says:

      See… poems can stick to the brain like peanut butter!

  2. Arlee Bird says:

    I should write more poetry. Don’t know how much better the world would be in the aftermath of my creation, but it’s worth a try.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Wrote By Rote

    1. veganrose says:

      Something great may roll off your fingertips and onto the page…

Leave a Reply

