NaPoWriMo Day 6: F is for Ferlinghetti

Lawrence Ferlinghetti …  I chose him to be my poet-of-the-day because he writes poems that are so approachable, I want to invite him over to dinner. (I’m making home-made baked beans tonight, Larry!)  With out further ado, here is my NaPoWriMo poem for the day:

True StoryIMG_0271

I found a tiny heart

on the bottom

of a bag

of old yarn

from the Goodwill.

Balls of green, of denim blue-

Balls of lavender

rolled across the room

and there, too,

on the floor-

a small crystal heart.

Isn’t it funny?

The universe gives

you just what you need,

just when you need it?

But then-

was there ever a day

that I’m not in need

of a blue crystal heart?


Lawrence Ferlinghetti has such a rich life story I don’t want to minimize it by summing it up in a paragraph.  I’m high-fiving him for his great straight-to-the-heart-of-it style.  And for promoting poetry as something that should be accessible to all- not just for the intelligentsia (that word is for you, Gary – we miss you!)

Recipe for Happiness Khabarovsk or Anyplace

One grand boulevard with trees

with one grand cafe in sun

with strong black coffee in very small cups.

One not necessarily very beautiful

man or woman who loves you.

One fine day.

~written by Lawrence Ferlinghetti

LawrenceFerlinghetti_NewBioImage

4 Comments Add yours

  1. JK Candlen says:

    I’m loving your poems. To find a crystal blue heart is like finding a love note. Secret and hidden away, but what a surprise, I must say.

  2. veganrose says:

    thanks, JK… you’re invited to dinner along with Lawrence Ferlinghetti!

  3. Really liking your post!! I love your theme, super creative. What a beautiful poem.

    1. veganrose says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Anne Marie… I’m glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

