National Poetry Writing Month

To borrow a phrase from bff Kate… I think I’m getting my first post in under the wire!  To be fair, today was my birthday and so it is only now, at 11:26 pm, that I’m sitting down to write my first poem of the month… due by midnight.

Fitting into the Blogging from A to Z Challenge, my theme is this:  poets who inspire me.  And for A, I’ve selected Adrienne Rich and Margaret Atwood.  These are two of the strong, feminist voices I’ve listened to over the years. Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt suggests describing something in terms of what it is not.  I started to write a different poem, which I’ll save for a different day – what came out feels more in the style of Gertrude Stein, another strong woman I admire.

I was going to say

I’m alone here

and love being alone,

but I’m anything but alone

and the fact that I’m not alone

is what I love.


8 Comments Add yours

  1. Geo Sans says:

    Language… has created the word ‘loneliness’ to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word ‘solitude’ to express the glory of being alone.
    ~
    Paul Tillich

    1. veganrose says:

      I love the subtle, and sometimes not-so-subtle differences between similar words. Word choice is everything. Thanks for sharing! ~Rosie

      1. Geo Sans says:

        reading your poem
        ~
        a favourite quote
        clicked in my head

  2. A wonderful poem. I love that picture too!

    1. veganrose says:

      Why thank you! That’s me from a few years ago 🙂
      ~Rosie

  3. Hello, nice to meet you. We’re actually never really alone…

    1. veganrose says:

      “What a lovely surprise to finally discover how unlonely being alone can be.”
      ~Ellen Burstyn

  4. JK Candlen says:

    There is something comforting to being alone and lost in your thoughts. You have good company, yourself.

Leave a Reply

