NaPoWriMo Day 19… Telling Lies

NaPoWriMo’s prompt for day 16 was pretty neat.  I can’t remember why I didn’t use it, but I’m employing it tonight as my inspiration.  The challenge was to write a 10 line poem, in which each line was a lie.

I never loved you, she said.

I never loved your sad blue eyes,

Or the drape of your frame over mine,

Or the wild curly rides on the power lines.

It wasn’t love, balsam scented under the pines,

Or love that tossed me up and over the moon.

It must have been a lunar phase.

A schoolgirl crush, I was temporarily insane.

I don’t think about you anymore,

In fact, I barely remember.

Leave a Reply

