April 2… inspiration by extrapolation…

It’s day two of National Poetry Writers’ Month, and today’s prompt from the NaPoWriMo site was mythology.  Write a poem based on mythology.  I extrapolated a little from that idea.  Being a native of Saugerties, NY,  I decided to go with Hudson Valley mythology and considered the stories of Washington Irving.   When I was in the 7th grade, my school performed the operetta Rip Van Winkle, so my poem draws from that experience.

It was an operetta-429310715_13916_122_332lo-1

Rip Van Winkle to be exact.

Our seventh grade selves

happy because

play practice took us

out of classrooms

and away from the boredom

of social studies

and arithmetic.

I remember

the way that boy’s

voice cracked when

he sang his lines, and

how old the teacher seemed

to me then-

But really she was just the

age I am now.

Not so very old.

Now I see

how young she was

as we bury that same boy

the one who stood beside me on stage

and who sang in the play

with his voice on the brink of manhood.

Leave a Reply

