April’s here… it’s National Poetry Writer’s Month!

The first NaPoWriMo.net prompt directs us to the Bibliomancy Oracle, where you may ask for a divine message and receive a passage extracted from literature especially for you.  How fun is that?  The poetry challenge is to use your message as inspiration for your first poem of the NaPoWriMo season.

This is the lovely passage I was given:

There was always the murmur, you remember, about going home.

~ from “Extreme Wisteria” by Lucie Brock-Broido

And now my poem.  I’m a little rusty but here goes:

I tried to remember…

and then it came to me

as hushed

and as soft as a murmur-

the words curling about

until that whisper

grew and grew

steady, until it cried out

telling me

what I knew. I knew

it was time to go home.

Leave a Reply

