NaPoWriMo: Day 25

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a ballad.  Music once again provides the inspiration, and this time it was the lovely ballad, Tam Lin, performed by Fairport Convention.  This song is so beautiful, I remember where I was the first time I heard it on the radio almost 20 years ago.   I wanted my poem to have a mystical, traveling feel.  It turned out rather folksy, but that’s ok,  here you go…

Traveller

 

The hour is late, and yet I’m still walking

29 steps to go

29 steps, and a hole in my stocking

29 steps to show

 

So no time left for your moaning and rocking

There’s 29 steps, so quiet your talking

 

I already know what I came here to find

A singular circus

A singular thought, of the critical kind

A singular purpose

 

So don’t peel oranges just to feast on the rind

You’re a singular clown, with a juggler’s mind.

 

I take the last bow, as my heart tends to swell

Four seasons to sing here

Four treasonous stories for strong men to tell

Four reasons to linger

 

So careful, don’t fall for the sorcerer’s spell

And when all is told, we can know it ends well.

 

 
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nikhil Jain says:

    Nice!!!! Liked the music….

    Happy NaPoWriMo 🙂

    1. veganrose says:

      Thank you, Nikhil!

Leave a Reply

