Write every day…

That’s the secret.  Write every day.  It’s an exercise like jogging.  When you stop, inertia sets in and it’s  difficult to regain your momentum.  Even after a few days away from the keyboard, putting  down those first words can be a struggle.

Participating in NaNoWriMo these past two years is teaching me to make writing a daily habit.  I guess I should  have learned this lesson years ago when I put down my dissertation for one semester and never returned.  But hey, live and learn the hard way.  It’s day 8 of writing and after a few days off, I’m back at the keyboard, baby.

Leave a Reply

