If only we listened…


July 17:  
Use this for an opening line:

Grandma used to say, “If you want strawberries, don’t sow radishes.”

Grandma used to say, “If you want strawberries, don’t sow radishes.”  Each time she said it, her gaze turned to me.  She knew exactly what it was I wanted.  Exactly.  I met her gaze honestly each time.  The last time she spoke those words, I was rocketing down the front porch steps into a hot, still evening that was pregnant with expectation.  That last time, I pretended I didn’t hear, and as I ran across the grass I could feel her eyes follow me until I disappeared from her view into the corn field.

Leave a Reply

