But now I only hear its melancholy, long, withdrawing roar…

July 6Off the Cliff”   (FYI I didn’t like todays’s exercise, so I’ve gone back to one I missed):

Describe an elegant hotel room from the point of view of a character who is having a psychotic breakdown.

The sea is calm tonight, like Dover Beach was on the night Matthew Arnold described it.  Turning from the balcony, I retreat to my rented room, content to spend my last evening in such a lovely, comfortable space.  The beach lies fair below me; inside it’s cool, dark. I creep beneath soft blue covers, pulling them up to my nose. Propped on a luscious pillow I can still see the ocean and the full moon as it threads itself across the water, glimmering and bright.  I know below the glassy façade, lay the skeletons of a hundred men.  Men like me, who walked out on an evening like tonight until the water crept up into their ears and over their heads, drowning out the voices.

Leave a Reply

