Day 4 and a hundred years ago…

Today the Giant Golden Buddha suggests that we conjecture about the past…

Turning a patch of soil behind the house, I felt a muted clank, the distinct contact of metal on metal.  I didn’t hear it so much as feel it transferred up the long wooden handle of my spade and through my garden gloves.  I buried the head of the shovel again gingerly, to dislodge the object from the bed where my peas and spinach would eventually lie.

A muddy clump surfaced, and I punched away the dirt with my thumbs, revealing a rusted horseshoe.  I looked up at my small farmhouse; the original structure was built in the late 1700s.  The barn is now a two-car garage, but a brick remnant of chimney still stands between the windows in the loft.  You can see where the horse stall stood, and  there is a door where horses would have entered and left.  I was curious about the horse who wore this shoe and like to imagine it was a dusty white mare with brown patches and a brown mane, named Doris.

The families who lived here 100, 200 years before us were farmers. I held up the horseshoe to my neighbor.  He crossed over from his own garden and shared the story of how he and his son unearthed a horse skeleton one year.  We both smiled at the history of our space and went back to our work.  As I continued digging, I wondered what I’ve dropped in gardens over the past two decades and whether it was interesting enough to make someone, someday, pause and speculate about me.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mathman1953 says:

    Very poignant observation indeed. And this observation touches upon the thought of continuity and what inidivifuals feel is important (or not) about continuity. A recent episode of the tv series House found a homeless man dying in a hospital bed and his only concern was that his passing would go unnoticed by anyone. We all desire to affect the future flow of events in some way , thereby somehow gaining at least a crumb of immortality . Were the previous tenants on that property likewise concerned at some point ? I’m guessing they were.

Leave a Reply

